Oracle Cloud Architecture

  1. Regions → It is a localized geographic area comprising one or more availability domains.
    • Lowest latency and Highest Performance.
  2. Availability Domains → An availability domain consists of a set of data centres within an Oracle Cloud Infrastructure region. The availability domains within a region are interconnected via a low-latency and high-bandwidth network.
  3. Fault Domain → Fault domain is grouping hardware and infrastructure within an availability domain to provide anti-affinity.
  • Bucket

A bucket is a container for storing objects in a compartment within a namespace. It is associated with a single compartment.

  • Sandbox

In Sandbox, Users can modify and analyzing data privately. The user’s data is saved independently of the application’s data.

  • Tenancy

A tenancy is a secure and isolated partition of Oracle Cloud Infrastructure to create, organize, and administer your cloud resources.


    • Creates and account.
    • Responsible for day-to-day operations.
  2. OCI ADMIN → set of users.
  3. OCI ADMIN GROUP → OCI admin here
  4. POLICIES → admin policy.
  5. SANDBOX – COMPARTMENT → own specific compartment.
  • Best Practice:-
    • Don’t use the Tenancy Administrator Account for day-to-day operations.
    • Created a dedicated compartment to isolate resources.
    • Enforce the use of Multi-Factor Authentication. Eg Password and Device.


  • Manage domains.
  • Manage all – resources.

Difference between Security List and Network Security Group.

⇰ NSGs’ security rules apply only to the resources in that NSG. By contrast, Security Lists’ rules apply to all the resources in a subnet that uses the list.

  • What is a load balancer?

⇰ It provides automated traffic distribution from one entry point to multiple servers in a VCN.

  • ORACLE CLOUD SHELL => Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) Cloud Shell is a web browser-based terminal accessible from the Oracle Cloud Console. Cloud Shell is free to use (within monthly tenancy limits) and provides access to a Linux shell.
  • Scaling => Scaling are two types: Vertical Scaling and another one is Horizontal Scaling.
  • Vertical Scaling, scale–up and scale–down instance shape supported. The new shape must have the same hardware architecture. Downtime is required. Stop the Instance before resizing.
  • Horizontal Scaling enables large-scale deployment of VM. Scale–out and Scale –in. One VM fails others keep working. No extra cost for using auto-scaling.

Kubernetes – It’s helpful for orchestration. 

  1. Can run containerized applications of any scale without any downtime.
  2. Can self-heal cauterized application.
  3. Greatly simplifies deployment operations.

Docker – It is used to manage and build the container.

Autonomous Database => An autonomous database is a cloud database that uses machine learning to automate database tuning, security, backups, updates, and other routine management tasks traditionally performed by DBAs. 

Object Storage Tiers =>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *